Standards in World Language Education
NJ Core Curriculum Content Standards
NJ World Languages Curriculum Framework
Standards for Foreign Language Learning in the 21st Century
ACTFL Performance Guidelines for K-12 Learners
Goals 2000 Educate America Act

    NJ Core Curriculum Content Standards in World Languages, 1996; Revised 2004
New Jersey Department of Education

The Goals 2000 Educate America Act of 1994 established national education goals for students to achieve greater levels of competency in various subject areas including world languages (National Goal #3). Within this national movement for higher standards for student achievement, the New Jersey State Board of Education in May 1996 adopted Core Curriculum Content Standards (CCCS) in seven academic areas:

  1. Language Arts Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science
  4. Social Studies
  5. Visual and Performing Arts
  6. Health and Physical Education
  7. World Languages

The statewide taskforce of parents, educators, and members of the business community that developed New Jersey's standards specifically asked that schools prepare students with competence in world languages.

World Languages Standards

The two world languages standards emphasize communication in a second language and cultural understanding:

  - Contact the Webmaster    
www.globalteachinglearning.com   Updated: Fri Nov 23 2007